Distinguished Faculty

The College of Medicine established the Distinguished Faculty Award in 1973 to honor exemplary faculty members who have helped to shape the institution. For many years, the award was presented by the Medical Alumni Association and its predecessor, the Arkansas Caduceus Club, during Alumni Weekend festivities.

In 2011, as part of the first annual Dean’s Honor Day ceremony, the college introduced the Distinguished Faculty Service Award, to recognize currently active faculty members who have exemplified broad-based, long-term service and dedication to the College of Medicine.


Suen_James_2005_for Dist Fac web pageJames Y. Suen, M.D.
Dr. Suen has been a pillar in in otolaryngology-head and neck surgery and UAMS cancer programs for four decades. The 1966 UAMS graduate became chief of the Division of Otolaryngology in 1974 and has served as chairman since the program became the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery two years later.

Dr. Suen worked with fellow faculty members in the 1970s and 1980s to develop comprehensive cancer programs and co-found the Arkansas Cancer Research Center, now known as the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute. Dr. Suen was the third director, serving in 2001-2007. Meanwhile, he became internationally known for his expertise in complex head and neck cancers, vascular lesions of the head and neck, and diseases of the larynx.


Westbrook_Kent (for web)Kent Westbrook, M.D.
Dr. Westbrook, a 1965 College of Medicine graduate, worked with colleagues through much of the 1970s and 1980s to develop comprehensive, multidisciplinary cancer programs at UAMS, culminating in the 1984 formation of the Arkansas Cancer Research Center (ACRC), the predecessor of the Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute.

Dr. Westbrook served as ACRC director for 14 years. He was chief of the Division of Surgical Oncology from 1992 to 2003, when he was promoted to the rank of Distinguished Professor. He has been an associate dean and a member of the UAMS Chancellor’s Cabinet. Dr. Westbrook has been lauded for accepting the helm during key leadership transitions on campus, including service as interim chair of the Department of Surgery from 1999 to 2002 and as interim vice chancellor for UAMS Development and Alumni Affairs in 2011.


casey,pat08Patrick H. Casey, M.D.
Dr. Casey, a professor of pediatrics, has built renowned programs for high-risk infants and children since joining the faculty in 1979. He led the seminal Infant Health and Development Program in Arkansas, which led to the KIDS FIRST therapeutic day care program that has grown to serve children at 11 sites across the state and is a model for the entire country.

Dr. Casey established the Center for Applied Research and Evaluation (CARE), which has provided a supportive environment for the development of nationally recognized research programs such as the Center for Birth Defects Research and Prevention and the Injury Prevention Center. Dr. Casey and colleagues initiated the Medical Home Clinic for children with medical complexity at Arkansas Children’s Hospital. He was appointed vice chair for faculty affairs in the Department of Pediatrics in 2005.

Tank_Pat (for web)Patrick W. Tank, Ph.D.
Dr. Tank was a beloved, award-winning educator, renowned anatomist and pillar in the Department of Neurobiology and Developmental Sciences from 1978 until his death in 2012. He taught the intricacies of the human body to more than 4,000 medical students, serving as a mentor for many of them as well for graduate students.

Dr. Tank directed the Medical Gross Anatomy Course, Anatomical Gift Program, education and anatomical education in the department. He was the inaugural holder of the Lutterloh Medical Education Excellence Professorship from 1998 to 2001 and served as interim chair of the department in 1999-2000. He oversaw the original development and a major expansion of the state-of-the-art Gross Anatomy Laboratory in its current location. Dr. Tank was a pioneer in web-based education. He also edited three editions of the widely used manual “Grant’s Dissector.”


Wenger_Galen (for web)Galen Wenger, Ph.D.
Dr. Wenger has served as a strong voice for excellence in medical and graduate education at UAMS since joining the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology in 1978 following a postdoctoral position at Harvard Medical School. In 2010-2011 the award-winning educator re-assumed leadership of the Medical Pharmacology Course for the fifth time. He directed the Pharmacology Course for graduate students eight times.

Dr. Wenger earned the respect and admiration of students and faculty colleagues for his dedication and ongoing efforts to improve the curriculum, lectures and other teaching sessions. He has served on dozens of committees and councils, chairing groups such as the Research Council, the Council for Academic Affairs and the Committee on Promotion and Tenure. He is an internationally known researcher and leader in behavioral pharmacology and the effects of drugs of abuse on cognitive function.


Distinguished Faculty Award Recipients (1973-2008)

2008 John Dornhoffer, M.D.
2007 R. Lee Archer, M.D., Class of 1982
2006 Galen R. Wenger, Ph.D.
2005 Laura Hutchins, M.D., Class of 1977
2004 A. Reed Thompson, M.D., Class of 1970
2003 John P. Shock, M.D.
2002 Debra H. Fiser, M.D., Class of 1977
2001 Thomas E. Andreoli, M.D.
2000 A. Wesley Burks, M.D., Class 1980
1999 Astride Brueck Seifen, M.D., Ph.D.
1999 I. Dodd Wilson, M.D.
1998 Carl L. Nelson, M.D.
1997 Bart Barlogie, M.D.
1997 Richard F. Jacobs, M.D., Class of 1977
1996 Dennis D. Lucy, M.D., Class of 1959
1996 Ernest J. Ferris, M.D
1996 Patrick W. Tank, Ph.D.
1995 Aubrey J. Hough, Jr., M.D.
1995 Louis L. Sanders, M.D., Class of 1955
1994 Phillip L. Rayford, Ph.D.
1994 Robert W. Bradsher, M.D., Class of 1976
1993 John F. Redman, M.D., Class of 1963
1993 Robert W. Barnes, M.D.
1992 Jerome K. Sherman, Ph.D.
1992 Richard V. Ebert, M.D.
1991 Marvin L. Murphy, M.D.
1990 Almen Leo Barron, Ph.D.
1990 James Yee Suen, M.D., Class of 1966
1989 Roscoe A. Dykman, Ph.D.
1989 Robert H. Fiser, Jr., M.D., Class of 1966
1988 Joseph Henry Bates, M.D., Class of 1957
1988 Shirley Ann Gilmore, Ph.D.
1987 John E. Peters, M.D.
1987 Lawrence E. Scheving, Ph.D
1986 James E. Doherty, III, M.D., Class of 1946
1985 Stevenson Flanigan, M.D.
1984 Roger Bost, M.D., Class of 1945
1983 Robert S. Abernathy, M.D.
1982 Betty A. Lowe, M.D., Class of 1956
1981 No award given
1980 No award given
1979 George L. Ackerman, M.D., Class of 1954
1978 Kent C. Westbrook, M.D., Class of 1965
1976 William J. Flanigan, M.D., Class of 1955
1975 James L. Dennis, M.D., Chancellor
1974 William G. Reese, M.D.
1973 Winston K. Shorey, M.D., Dean