COM Associate Deans

Robin K. Dreisigacker, J.D.
Associate Dean, Administration

Robin Dreisigacker worked as an attorney, strategic planning and management consultant, and executive at academic medical centers and higher education institutions for 20 years before her recruitment to the UAMS College of Medicine in 2015. Ms. Dreisigacker held leadership, planning and executive communications posts at the University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center and the University of Cincinnati Academic Health Center. She operated a consulting practice and general civil legal practice from 2012 to 2015. Ms. Dreisigacker received her Juris Doctor degree from the University of New Mexico School of Law, where she was honored with the Health Law Scholar Award. She received a Bachelor of Arts with distinction in sociology from the University of Pennsylvania.

Contact Ms. Dreisigacker: (501) 686-5393 |


Richard M. Nuttall, B.S.
Associate Dean, Finance

Richard Nuttall was recruited to UAMS as the College of Medicine’s chief financial officer in 2015 after serving in key finance and administrative leadership posts and consulting roles at major academic medical institutions throughout the United States. He most recently was vice chairman and business administrator for the Department of Medicine at the University of Florida College of Medicine, where he was responsible for overall administration of the department’s multi-specialty group clinical practice, research and academic enterprises and strategic planning. He held similar posts at the University of New Mexico, Rutgers University and other academic medical centers. As a health care management consultant for numerous academic institutions, Mr. Nuttall specialized in mission-based financial management and faculty compensation plans. He earned his Bachelor of Science at the University of Utah.

Contact Mr. Nuttall: (501) 686-8135 |


Jeannette M. Shorey II, M.D.
Associate Dean, CME and Faculty Affairs
UAMS Associate Provost for Faculty

Dr. Jeannette M. Shorey II, a nationally recognized leader in medical faculty development and services, communication and medical professionalism, has served as associate dean for continuing education and faculty affairs in the College of Medicine since 2004. In 2015, she was appointed to lead two new centralized, campus-wide offices, the UAMS Faculty Center and the UAMS Office of Continuing Education, as the institution’s first associate provost for faculty. Dr. Shorey was recruited to UAMS in 2002 after serving for 16 years on the faculty and clinical leadership staff at Harvard University Medical School and Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston, where she earlier had completed her residency and fellowship in internal medicine. She received her medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in 1983.

Contact Dr. Shorey: (501) 526-4661 |


James Graham, M.D.
Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education

Dr. James Graham, an award-winning educator who has directed the College of Medicine’s first-year clinical medicine course since 1999, began overseeing undergraduate medical education as associate dean in 2010. Dr. Graham graduated from the College of Medicine in 1985 and remained at UAMS for his general pediatrics residency. He completed the University of Oklahoma-based National Center on Child Abuse and Neglect’s Interdisciplinary Training Program and then completed a pediatric emergency medicine fellowship at UAMS. Dr. Graham joined the faculty in 1991 and began directing the fellowship the following year. He served as chief of pediatric emergency medicine in the college and at Arkansas Children’s Hospital from 2005 until his appointment as associate dean. Dr. Graham was instrumental in development of Arkansas’ statewide trauma system as chair of the Governor’s Trauma Advisory Council.

Contact Dr. Graham: (501) 686-7407 |


Jim A. Clardy, M.D.
Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education

Dr. Jim Clardy, a professor of psychiatry, has served as associate dean for graduate medical education since 2004. Dr. Clardy graduated from the College of Medicine in 1986 and remained at UAMS for his residency in psychiatry before completing a fellowship in schizophrenia research at the National Institute for Mental Health. He has been active in residency education since joining the faculty in 1993, later serving as director of the Psychiatry Residency. As associate dean, Dr. Clardy has concentrated on junior faculty development and educational research. Dr. Clardy has served on the steering committee for the Association of American Medical College’s Group on Resident Affairs and is a member of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Institutional Review Committee. He is also a fellow in the American College of Psychiatrists.

Contact Dr. Clardy: (501) 296-1159 |


Chris E. Smith, M.D.
Regional Associate Dean, UAMS-Northwest

Dr. Chris Smith brings extensive experience in undergraduate and graduate medical education to the UAMS-Northwest campus in Fayetteville, where he has served as the College of Medicine’s first regional associate dean since 2011. Dr. Smith, a general pediatrician, held numerous clinical and faculty leadership posts while based in the Department of Pediatrics for 22 years including vice-chair for education, director of the Pediatrics Residency and medical director of the simulation education center at Arkansas Children’s Hospital. He also served for many years on the college’s Graduate Medical Education Committee, including four as chair. Major honors for his teaching include the college’s Master Teacher Award and the Chancellor’s Faculty Teaching Award in 2009. Dr. Smith received his medical degree from the University of Mississippi in 1983 and completed his pediatric internship and residency at UAMS.

Contact Dr. Smith: (479) 713-8307 |