(last updated 07/20/2016)

Purpose:  This Committee serves to enhance the academic environment within the COM and throughout UAMS by inviting four renowned scholars, annually, to address the community through formal lectures and to visit with faculty, fellows, and students.  The Committee also selects the recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Lectureship and the Dean’s Lecture Selection.  Each of these awards is given on an annual basis to a faculty member selected for his or her accomplishments in academic medicine (clinical or basic research).  The Distinguished Lectureship recipient is chosen from among current UAMS faculty and the Distinguished Alumnus award is chosen from among UAMS alumni.

Chair: Stavros Manolagas, M.D., Ph.D.


  • Muhammad Jaffar, M.D.
  • Jeannette Lee, Ph.D.
  • Gloria Richard-Davis, M.D.
  • Rosalia Simmen, Ph.D.
  • Mark Smeltzer, Ph.D.
  • Alan Tackett, Ph.D.
  • Emre Vural, M.D.
  • Gail Woods, M.D.