(last updated 4/23/2018)

Purpose:  The Research Council has umbrella responsibility for research development and coordination within the College of Medicine.  The primary activities of the Research Council include: 1) review of applications for intramural pilot and bridging grants, 2) annual review of Core Facilities and 3) review of proposed campus policies and revisions to existing policies that have the potential to impact the College’s research mission. The Research Council also serves in an advisory role to the Executive Associate Dean for Research.

Chair:  Charlotte Hobbs, M.D., Ph.D.



  • Sean Adams, Ph.D.
  • John Arthur, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Nancy Gray, Ph.D.
  • Clint Kilts, Ph.D.
  • Stavros Manolagas, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Phil Mayeux, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Pearl McElfish, Ph.D., MBA
  • Richard Owen, M.D.
  • Michael Owens, Ph.D.
  • Fred Prior, Ph.D.
  • Mark Smeltzer, Ph.D.
  • Alan Tackett, Ph.D.
  • Jeanne Wei, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Henry Wong, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Fen Xia, M.D., Ph.D.


View the Research Council Meeting Minutes.