Skip to main content

News: Fiser COM Award

Fiser Receives COM Distinguished Faculty Service Award

April 26, 2017 | The UAMS College of Medicine honored Richard Thomas “Tad” Fiser, M.D., for his longstanding service as an educator, physician, scholar and leader and highlighted the accomplishments of many other faculty and staff at its seventh annual Dean’s Honor Day on April 24.

Fiser, professor in the Section of Critical Care Medicine in the Department of Pediatrics, received the Distinguished Faculty Service Award from Executive Vice Chancellor and Dean Pope L. Moseley, M.D.

“Dr. Fiser has made extensive contributions in education, clinical care and scholarly work during his 14 years on the faculty,” Moseley said.

Shorey presented with flowers

Jeannette M. Shorey II, center, is recognized for her work planning the Dean’s Honor Day since its inception in 2011.

Moseley said Fiser is respected by both trainees and colleagues. Noting that Fiser has mentored more than 30 successful trainees, Moseley read from a former trainee’s letter: “Dr. Fiser taught us those intangible, invaluable skills that I only truly appreciated once I stepped into the shoes of an attending physician.”

Likewise, Moseley selected a quote from a fellow physician who said: “Dr. Fiser embodies what is good about UAMS, being a physician and being from Arkansas. He is a friend, a trusted colleague and an outstanding role model to any of us who aspire to this great profession.”

Fiser, a 1991 College of Medicine graduate, also completed his residency and fellowship at UAMS. He returned to UAMS as a pediatric cardiac intensivist in 2003. He began practicing exclusively in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) and working with the sedation team a few years later.

Two doctors with award

Robert Saylors, M.D., right, receives the Master Teacher award from Richard F. Jacobs, M.D.

Fiser is a nationally recognized authority in extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). He served as medical director of the ECMO program at Arkansas Children’s Hospital for 13 years and led development of the adult ECMO program at UAMS. He was named medical director of the PICU in 2015.

After directing the Pediatric Cardiac Intensive Care Fellowship in 2005-2006, Fiser transitioned to leadership of the Pediatric Critical Care Fellowship, which was recognized as the college’s outstanding small training program in 2010. He has received the department’s Educator of the Year award three times, earning educator emeritus status. Medical students have recognized his teaching with the Red Sash award.

Moseley also made a special presentation to Jeannette M. Shorey II, M.D., who began serving as associate dean for faculty affairs and continuing medical education in 2004. Shorey was named UAMS’ first associate provost for faculty in 2015 and continued to serve as associate dean during the search for her successor.

Shorey has led the planning of Dean’s Honor Day since its inception in 2011. Moseley applauded her work to make the ceremony “joyful, dignified and yet very personable.”

Two doctors with award

Eric R. Rosenbaum, M.D., right, receives the Educational Innovation award from Jennifer L. Hunt, M.D.

Moseley thanked Shorey for her dedication to the faculty.

“Jan has worked tirelessly to improve faculty policies, development and support services,” Moseley said. “She has mentored and counseled many of you through tough times as well as good ones. Dr. Shorey has raised the bar for professionalism in our college – and so much more.”

The celebration, which was held in the I. Dodd Wilson Education Building, included 11 individual awards, recognition of 56 faculty members receiving promotion and/or tenure, and a round of applause for 11 faculty members invested in endowed chairs or professorships this academic year.

The faculty honorees were:

Robert L. Saylors III, M.D., professor, Section of Hemotology/Oncology, Department of Pediatrics – Master Teacher

Eric R. Rosenbaum, M.D., assistant professor, Department of Pathology – Educational Innovation

Two doctors with award

Mark Smeltzer, Ph.D., right, receives the Excellence in Research award from Richard P. Morrison, Ph.D.

Mark Smeltzer, Ph.D., professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Department of Pathology and Department of Orthopaedic Surgery– Excellence in Research

Linda McGhee, M.D., associate professor; director, family medicine residency at the UAMS Northwest Regional Campus – Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented by the Arnold P. Gold FoundationThe Staff

Excellence Awards were:

Toni Sanders, clerkship program coordinator, Department of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery – Education

LaTunja Sockwell, administrator, research and data coordinator, Division of Research and Evaluation, Department of Family and Preventive Medicine – Research

Kumar Patel, physician assistant, craniofacial, cleft and pediatric plastic surgery, Department of Surgery – Clinical

Two doctors with award

Linda McGhee, M.D., right, receives the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine award from Jeannette M. Shorey II, M.D.

Renee Raines, director, UAMS Sponsored Programs administrative network; director, College of Medicine grants and risk assessment – AdministrationResidency

Educator Awards were given to:

Abby Nolder, M.D., assistant professor, director of the residency program for the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery

Michael Saccente, M.D., professor, director of the residency program for the Department of Internal Medicine

By Amy Widner| April 26th, 2017