Pediatrics Residency Graduation Awards 2021

Robert H. Fiser Memorial Award for Excellence in Primary Care: Josh Lyon, M.D.

Named in honor of the former Chair of the Department of Pediatrics, an inspiring teacher and leader who promoted General Pediatric care throughout the state, this award is presented to the graduating resident who exhibits the exceptional professional qualities needed for the practice of general pediatrics. Voted on by the Primary Care Section. All graduating residents are eligible.

Debra H. Fiser Award for Excellence in Critical Care: Phoebe Martin, M.D.

Named in honor of the first Chief of Critical Care and former Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics, this award is presented to a resident finishing their pediatric training who demonstrated superb clinical skills and an outstanding professional attitude during their training in Pediatric Critical Care. Voted on by the Critical Care Section. All graduating residents are eligible.

Rhonda Dick Award for Excellence in Pediatric Emergency Medicine - Outstanding Intern: Ryan Steele, M.D.

Named in honor of Rhonda Dick, the first section chief of Pediatric Emergency Medicine at UAMS and ACH, these awards recognize an intern and a graduating resident who have excelled in offering patient care in the Emergency Department setting. Voted on by the Emergency Medicine Section. All intern residents are eligible.

Rhonda Dick Award for Excellence in Pediatric Emergency Medicine - Outstanding Admitting Resident: **Krystle McCarson**, **M.D.**

Named in honor of Rhonda Dick, the first section chief of Pediatric Emergency Medicine at UAMS and ACH, these awards recognize an intern and a graduating resident who have excelled in offering patient care in the Emergency Department setting. Voted on by the Emergency Medicine Section. All graduating residents are eligible.

Arrington Award for Excellence in Neonatal Care: Thanh Thanh Dai, M.D.

Named in honor of Robert Arrington and his longstanding devotion to teaching pediatric Housestaff the essentials of providing medical care to the newborn, especially the resuscitation of the critically-ill neonate, this award is presented to a graduating resident who has provided exceptional neonatal care while rotating in the nurseries at UAMS/ACH. Voted on by the Neonatal Care Section. All graduating residents are eligible.

Chris E. Smith Award for Excellence in Hospital Medicine: Cindy Nguyen, M.D.

Named in honor of a Vice-Chairman for Education and the physician who, as Associate Medical Director of ACH, first organized the pediatric hospitalist service and established our first simulation center. This award recognizes a graduating resident who has demonstrated excellence in patient care and professionalism on the inpatient services. Voted on by the Hospitalist Section. All graduating residents are eligible.

David Becton Award for Excellence in Pediatric Hematology/Oncology: Linda Murphy, M.D.

Named in honor of David Becton, the second section chief of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology at UAMS and ACH. This award is presented to a pediatric resident who has provided exceptional pediatric hematology/oncology care while rotating on our service, participating in our department research, and demonstrates a deep compassion for our patients.

W. Thomas Dungan Memorial Award for Outstanding Scholarly Project: Thanh Thanh Dai, M.D.

Named in honor of a highly respected Pediatric Cardiologist and teacher who was the former ACH Medical Director, former Chief of Staff and College of Medicine Inaugural Hall of Fame member, this award recognizes a graduating resident who has demonstrated excellence through their scholarly project work.

Donald E. Hill Memorial Award for Excellence in Research: Adam Price, M.D.

Named in honor of the former Medical Director of the UAMS Intensive Care Nursery and remembered by many as a mentor to residents and junior faculty in research and scholarship, this award recognizes the graduating resident who has shown the greatest commitment to improving children's health through research. Voted on by a committee chosen by the Program Director. All graduating residents are eligible.

Betty A. Lowe Award for Excellence in Child Advocacy: Lauren Howard, M.D.

Named in honor of the former ACH Medical Director and former AAP President, who used these opportunities to advocate for children; this award recognizes the graduating resident who has demonstrated a commitment to the welfare of children through advocacy. All graduating residents are eligible.

Resident Quality Improvement Initiative Award: Feng Zheng, M.D.

This award recognizes a graduating resident who has demonstrated the most initiative in applying the framework, tools and methodologies of quality improvement by designing a project that resulted in an improvement.

Gordon E. Schutze Resident of the Year: Kelsey Bradbury, M.D.

Named in honor of the Pediatric Program Director from 1997 to 2004, the recipient of this award is selected by the residents in recognition of an exemplary graduating resident with a strong fund of knowledge, a tenacious work ethic and upbeat attitude, and patient care skills that are worth emulating. Voted on by all residents. All graduating residents are eligible.

Outstanding Intern of the Year: Thomas Fiedorek, M.D.

The recipient of this award is selected by their peers and is recognized as an intern with a promising future in this residency for her strong fund of knowledge, work ethic, and patient care skills which are worth emulating. Voted on by all residents. All intern residents are eligible.

Jeopardy Award: Rachel DeLong, M.D.; Lily Suh, M.D.

Program Director calculates who was called in the most times this year for jeopardy.

Friend of the Housestaff: Kris Dunlap

The winner of this award is selected by the residents as the person who consistently makes their residency experience more enjoyable and maybe even a little easier. Voted on by all residents.

Speaker at the Banquet: Matt Malone, M.D.

Graduating residents select a member of the faculty to deliver the Farewell Speech at the banquet.

Resident Education Cup: Hematology/Oncology

This award is voted on by all residents. Presented to the Department of Pediatric Division that excels in resident education.

Teacher of the Year: Emily Smith, M.D.

The recipient of this award is selected by the graduating residents in recognition of dedication to resident education, fine mentoring skills and the positive influence provided to the residents. Voted on by graduating residents only. All faculty are eligible.

Richard F. Jacobs, M.D. Faculty Teaching Award: Joana Mack, M.D.

This award recognizes the superior educators among our faculty. Named in honor of the Dept. of Pediatrics' previous Chairman, finalists for this award are chosen by all Pediatric and Internal Medicine-Pediatric residents. The recipient is selected from the finalists and is eligible for consideration once every three years. Voted on by all residents. All faculty are eligible.

Finalists

Debbie Becton, M.D.

Matt Malone, M.D.

David Matlock, M.D.

Liza Murray, M.D.

Randa Othman, M.D.

Emily Smith, M.D.