### Department of Surgery

The Department of Surgery celebrated its 2021 graduating residents and fellows in a virtual ceremony on June 19, 2021. We are very pleased to announce the following honors presented to residents and faculty.

#### Awards presented:

#### Best Research Presentation: Dr. Christopher Jean-Louis, Diseases of the Breast Fellow Dr. Jean-Louis' presentation "Newly Diagnosed Breast Cancer Patients: Which Combination of Imaging is Better 2D or 3D Mammography with Breast MRI? Fatty Breast or Dense Breast: Does it Matter?" was voted best presentation at the Annual Department of Surgery Research Day on June 15, 2021 and announced at the virtual graduation.

Outstanding Teaching Attending (voted by the M3 Students): **Dr. Christian Simmons** In recognition of his service, dedication and commitment toward the education of the junior medical students during 2020-2021.

## The John B. Cone, M.D. Award for Outstanding Teaching Attending (voted by the Surgery residents): **Dr. Conan Mustain**

In recognition of his service, dedication and commitment toward the education of the surgical residents during 2020-2021.

### Outstand Teaching Resident (voted by the M3 Students): **Dr. Tamara Osborn** In recognition of her service, dedication and commitment to the education of the junior medical students during 2020-2021.

Iron Intern Award for Outstanding Intern in Surgery in 2020-2021 (voted by the PGY2-5 Surgery residents): **Dr. Seana Corbin** 

In recognition of her superior diligence to the clinical mission of the Department of Surgery.

# 2020-2021 Robert M. Bransford, M.D. Memorial Award for Outstanding Chief Resident in Surgery (voted by the Surgery Faculty and PGY1-4 residents): **Dr. John Pagteilan**

To perpetuate the memory and example of Robert M. Bransford, M.D., class of 1953, this award is presented annually through an endowment established by the Southern Clinic of Texarkana to the Chief Resident in Surgery who exemplifies those attributes of skill and compassion which Dr. Bransford manifested.

Mary K. Kimbrough, M.D. Associate Professor Department of Surgery Program Director, Surgery Residency and Surgical Critical Care Fellowship Programs UAMS College of Medicine