Pausing to Say Thanks



Several members of the inaugural class of **Medical Scholars in Public Health** (MSPH) took a moment recently to thank **Dr. Christopher Westfall**, former Dean of the College of Medicine, for initiating the program for promising college graduates who are interested in medicine and public health. A partnership of the UAMS colleges of Medicine, Public Health and Pharmacy, the post-baccalaureate program serves as an educational bridge to a master's degree in public health and/or a medical degree for Arkansans from socially, economically or geographically disadvantaged backgrounds.

Seven of the 15 students enrolled in the program were on hand to present Dr. Westfall, who retired August 1, with a signed class photo. Pictured from left are: Tierra Holland, Kayla Jimmerson, Stefany Sierra, Dr. Westfall, Alexandria Smith, Michael Bunyard, Savannah Stacks and Xavius Hymes.

Dr. Jerrilyn Jones, an Associate Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine, directs the program. **Dr. Sara Tariq**, Professor of Internal Medicine and Associate Dean for Student Affairs, is Chair of the MSPH Planning Committee. **Kimberlyn Blann** serves as MSPH Program Coordinator.

Read more about the MSHP Program in the UAMS Newsroom.