In the Spotlight | Recent Grants & Research November 2024

Dear Colleagues,

As Thanksgiving nears, I want you to know how much I appreciate your hard work to make UAMS an essential institution for our state, and for making the College of Medicine a great place to work.

I continue to be impressed with the collegiality and dedication of our faculty and staff to education, research, clinical care and service to communities across Arkansas. Likewise, I am proud of our students, residents and fellows, both for their accomplishments and for always being eager to volunteer wherever needed.

Highlights this past month included the investitures of two outstanding faculty members, **Dr. Corey Montgomery**, Associate Professor of **Orthopaedic** Surgery, and Dr. Ashley Acheson, Professor of Psychiatry, in endowed chairs.

Congratulations also to the five UAMS faculty who received Chancellor's Awards of Excellence on Nov. 19, including COM faculty members **Dr. Stacie Jones**, Professor of **Pediatrics**, who received the Chancellor's Award for Scholarship: and Dr. Shashank Kraleti, Chair of Family and Preventive Medicine and Director of the Primary Care & Population Health Service Line, who received the Chancellor's Award for Clinical Innovation.

I have enjoyed getting to know many of you during my first nine months at UAMS - and I look forward to meeting many more. If you see me in the corridors, please stop and introduce yourself! Meanwhile, I wish you and your loved ones a very happy Thanksgiving.

Steven A. Webber, MBChB, MRCP

Dean, College of Medicine

Executive Vice Chancellor, UAMS

Back to the top

## IN THE SPOTLIGHT

## Congratulations, Newly Invested Faculty!



Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, was invested in the Richard W. Nicholas, M.D., and Corey O. Montgomery, M.D., Chair in Orthopaedic Oncology on Oct. 29. Dr. Montgomery, who specializes in malignant and benign tumors of the bone and soft tissue, is the only fellowship-trained orthopaedic oncologist practicing in Arkansas. **READ MORE** Back to the top

Corey Montgomery, M.D., Associate



Department of **Psychiatry**, was invested in the Wilbur D. Mills Distinguished Chair in Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Prevention on Nov. 12. Dr. Acheson, a behavioral neuroscientist, is highly regarded for his research including the behavioral and biological factors underlying risk for addictions. **READ MORE** 

Ashley Acheson, Ph.D., Professor and

Vice Chair for Research in the



resistance to the antibiotic cefiderocol. The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases awarded Dr. Huang \$3.6 million for the five-year study, which launched this fall. Collaborators include postdoctoral fellow Sun Hee Moon, Ph.D., along with College of Medicine faculty members Lu Huang, Ph.D. (Microbiology/Immunology), Se-Ran Jun, Ph.D. (Biomedical Informatics), and Mitchell Jenkins, M.D., and Ryan Dare, M.D. (both in Internal Medicine/Infectious Diseases). READ MORE



fellowship in an effort to address the impact of the opioid epidemic on women and help reduce the state's maternal mortality rate. The initiative to train a new generation of psychiatrists in the treatment of women with opioid use disorder and other psychiatric conditions, specifically during pregnancy and the postpartum period, will be led by Jessica Coker, M.D., Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Medical Director of PRI's inpatient units. READ MORE

Back to the top

The COMmunication is published monthly to highlight key events, initiatives and developments in the COM, introduce new faculty members and leaders, and shine a spotlight on our work in education, research, clinical care and service to Arkansas. To view past issues, visit the **COMmunication webpage**. Comments and questions are always welcome. Call Tamara Robinson, Senior Communications Writer, at 526-5163, or send an email to COMInternalCommunications@uams.edu.

